What is Aikido?

Morihei Ueshiba (植芝 盛平, December 14, 1883 – April 26, 1969) was a martial artist and founder of the modern Japanese martial art of Aikido. He is often referred to as "the founder" Kaiso (開祖) or Ōsensei(大先生/翁先生), "Great Teacher". Ueshiba envisioned aikido not only as the synthesis of his martial training but as an expression of his personal philosophy of universal peace and reconciliation. He developed aikido primarily during the late 1920s to the 1930s based on the older martial arts that he had studied.

Today, the largest aikido organization is the Aikikai Foundation, which remains under the control of the Ueshiba family. However, aikido has many styles, mostly formed by Morihei Ueshiba's major students. These major styles of aikido are each run by a separate governing organization, have their own headquarters (本部道場 Hombu dōjō), and have an international breadth.

Aikido is often translated as "the way of unifying (with) life energy" or as "the way of harmonious spirit". Ueshiba's goal was to create an art that practitioners could use to defend themselves while also protecting their attacker from injury.

Aikido techniques consist of entering and turning movements that redirect the momentum of an opponent's attack, and a throw or joint lock that terminates the technique.

The word "aikido" is formed of three kanji:

  • 合 – ai – unifying, joining, harmony

  • 気 – ki – spirit, energy, mood, morale

  • 道 – dō – way, the path

 

Therefore, from a purely literal interpretation, aikido is the "Way of combining forces", in that the term Aiki refers to the martial arts principle or tactic of blending with an attacker's movements for the purpose of controlling their actions with minimal effort. One applies Aiki by understanding the rhythm and intent of the attacker to find the optimal position and timing to apply a counter-technique

合氣道簡介

植芝盛平(1883年12月14日-1969年4月26日)是一位武術家及日本合氣道的武術創始人。植芝盛平認為合氣道不只綜合了他的武術訓練,同時也體現出了他那種宇宙和平與和諧的哲學。合氣道的發展主要是在1920年代末至1930年代,植芝盛平基於他所學的古武術來開啟合氣道, 而他亦因此經常被稱譽為「開祖」、「大先生」或「偉大的老師」。

 

目前,最大的合氣道組織是公益財團法人合氣會。它仍處於植芝家族的控制之下。然而,合氣道有許多不同的風格,主要是由植芝盛平的主要學生所創立。這些不同風格的合氣道會, 均由獨立的理事機構負責, 他們有自己的總部(本部道場 Hombu Dojo)及獲得國際認可。

 

合氣道往往被解釋為“氣的統合”或是“精神的和諧”, 植芝的目標是要創立一種習武者能夠用來防身且保護攻擊者不致受傷的武術。

 

合氣道的技巧包含了入身及轉身動作,將對手的攻擊動作重新導向,同時以投或鎖的動作作為技巧的終結。

 

​合氣道一詞主要由三個漢字組成:

  • 合 – ai – unifying 統合,  joining 聯合,  harmony 和合

  • 気 – ki – spirit 精神,  energy 能量,  mood 心意,  morale 鬥志

  • 道 – dō – way 方法,  the path 通道

 

因此, 合氣道在純字面上的意義, 即是「氣的統合」,其中「合氣」的意思, 是指武術的原理, 或是以融合攻擊者動作的手法, 運用最小的力氣來控制對方的行動。人們在運用合氣時, 必須要了解攻擊者的節奏和意向,才能找出最佳的位置及時機來施展反擊的技巧。

 

合氣道特點是在「以柔克剛」、「借勁使力」、「不主動攻擊」,是一種純防守類型的武術。習練者不易養成爭強好鬥的性格。

 

合氣道的主要技巧是關節技,投技以及當身技。合氣道的大部分技巧需要同時使用投技和關節技,如果沒有保護對手的精神, 則會是很危險而無法繼續鍛鍊,所以練合氣道應該培養保護對手的精神,這是合氣道被稱作“創造性武道”的理由之一。

合氣道基本理念是對於力量不採用力量進行對抗。沒有粗野感的合氣道, 可作為一種精神鍛鍊和健身運動。

合氣道鍛鍊時對對手的體力並無要求,所以不論性別、年齡和水平都可以參加。

合氣道是一項全身運動。它可以幫助您調整呼吸並增強血液循環。

內作用(養成平和性格)​

 

合氣道不設比賽,練習者沒有相互競爭的念頭。合氣道無意破壞他人的武術,而是與他人一起鍛煉和培養自己的創意武術。練習合氣道的少年或兒童, 不容易發展不良的氣質或易於攻擊別人的性格和情感。